Testimonials for Avalon five star self-catering accommodation between Louisburgh and Westport

County Mayo, Ireland

“What a dream house in a dream location Paradise is Avalon”


Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015


The house is beautifully and meticulously appointed. Our first impression was that is was spotless and shiny and ultra modern, every day proved what a gem we had found. On the first morning the owners brother popped in with freshly baked bread as a welcome, the linen cupboard is stocked like a shop the kitchen is a dream and there is a laundry attached with everything one can need . Ample en-suites and house bathrooms, outside shower and two outside hoses for sandy feet. The barbeque is on an industrial scale. The entire living experience from fully tuned TV's to manicured lawns was divine. I cannot wait to go again


“Wonderful 5* accommodation...ideal for family groups.”


Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015


We have 4 young children who had the time of their lives playing on the beautiful beach just a tiny walk away. The gardens provided even more fun when we tired of the sea and sand and the house itself far far exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend this property.


“Perfection and Charm”


Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015


Avalon was the perfect home for our group of 11 with 4 teenagers. The house is beautiful, the views our breathtaking and ever changing and the beach was an adventure every day. We loved all the comforts of home like the fully updated kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms as well as the extras like the outdoor grill/fireplace, laundry room, and a living dining room that could accommodate everyone every day. We explored the region and loved it, but truly one could stay at Avalon and be swept away by the water, wind, sun, horses, beach , bay view, mountain view and green rolling hills each and every day. The owner, housekeeper, gardener, handyman and townspeople were so incredibly kind and knowledgeable. We were so charmed and we will be back.


“'Wow'”


Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015


My husband and I spent one week with four other couples, self catering at Avalon, Louisburgh, County Mayo. The property and its location are superb, very spacious, wooden floors, leather sofas, large screen TV, magnificent floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay, mountains and wonderful sunsets. There is a well equipped open plan kitchen with spacious 'fridge/water/ice make and a separate wine cooler fridge built into the kitchen island. The three en suite bedrooms are spacious, the en suites' finish 5*
Although there were ten of us in this property it never felt crowded. We enjoyed two evening meals sitting outside at the patio tables on the beautiful paved area surrounding the property, where we were able to look out to sea over the misty mountains - the views are amazing! The property leads to the beach which is only a short walk from the property. There is a similar property, which is slightly larger, directly to the rear of the property. the two properties together would sleep 24. This holiday was a wonderful experience which we hope to repeat, next time with our family. We cannot wait!


“Amazing House”


Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

1 person found this review helpful

Just back from an extended weekend trip at this amazing house. Only 100meters from the beach, a beautiful view of the sea and also Croagh Patrick. We were a group of 12 friends and we all had loads of space. Its newly renovated to a very high standard. Showers fantastic. Kitchen had everything we wanted (we had our meals in the house each evening) The owner Michael was so nice, even had left us milk and cake when we arrived in case we were hungry. There even was a special outdoor shower for those surfing on the beech etc. We got a mini bus taxi into Westport twice and it was only about a 10 min journey. Only 3-5 min car journey to the car park for Croagh Patrick. Would love to come back for another visit!


“Simply the Best”


Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

2 people found this review helpful

Avalon is situated in a beautiful place with stunning views all around. The property is very spacious and has all mod cons. There were 10 in our group and it never felt crowded. If you can tear yourself away from the comfort and scenic views from the property itself; then Westport is only a short drive and Loisburgh even closer. The Delphi pass is stunning mountain scenery and there are plenty of small unspoilt bays all around the local coast. Great for walks and wildlife. Plenty of places to enjoy a meal out. Michael the owner of the property has done everything to make this a charming and memorable property which is a true delight. A week is not long enough and you will definitely be back again wanting more as we will be!


“Avalon has beauty, comfort, quiet, and convenience.”


Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

1 person found this review helpful

From the living room window you have a stunning view of Clue Bay, the sunset, and the sheep in the neighboring pastures. You could sit and take in the beauty all day--but don't. Look to see when low tide is, and head down the 100 meter path to the beach. When the water is out, you can walk out to see the rocks, and the shellfish that live on them. The sand is fine, friendly people and dogs will stop to say "hello" and you can lounge or wander to your heart's content (my ancestors are from this area so my heart felt the pull of this place)

Avalon has 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a large kitchen, lots of comfortable couches, and even a nightwatchman (there is a pheasant who comes around to look in the glass doors at all hours). We went into Westport frequenly for supper (plenty of good restaurants and pubs) and you are only 3 kilometers to the center of Louisburgh to get supplies at the Gala deli/supermarket.

Avalon has comfort, beauty, quiet, and convenience. You will love it.


“Brilliant”


Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful house in a magical location overlooking Clew Bay with direct access to Old Head beach which we used for long walks every day.

12 of us stayed in the house and due to its size and layout it never seemed over crowded. This was enhanced by the open plan aspect and large panoramic windows which seemed to bring the outside in. 

Dealing with the owner was a pleasure. He and his representatives in Lousiburgh ensured that we all had a fabulous holiday. Nothing was too much trouble.

“excellently appointed holiday house with fantastic views”


Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

2 people found this review helpful

We had a great time staying in Avalon. The house was spacious and very light and airy. It was good to have plenty of living space and bathrooms so we weren't all on top of each other - ideal for 6 adults and 1 teenager. It would still feel spacious if we had had a full house. The wifi was a boon - especially for the younger member of the family! Avalon was well maintained, furnished and equipped. 
There is no better place than Old Head beach, and to have the panoramic and unspoilt view from the window and a very short walk onto the sand, made Avalon an extra special place to relax, unwind and socialise.
Thank you - the memory of our stay is still keeping us going,

“Exceptional Irish Hospitality”


Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013


My family and friends stayed at Avalon, originally we planned to stay 2 nights but extended this to 3. If we had of been able to stay longer we would of because of the great home and hospitality the owner and his brother gave us. They made us feel very welcome from the start with a local homemade apple pie to driving directions in the middle of the night. I was very proud to say I had Irish heritage when I met people as wonderful as that. I would recommend taking time out and visiting this part of Ireland, it is well worth it.

“Farrell Family Gathering”


Reviewed 29 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013


I was looking for a location in Ireland which would suit for an extended family gathering. Although there are two exceptions, all the family live in Ireland, but are living in different counties. I wanted a house larger enough to cater for a large group in stages, spotless, in a beautiful location, as close to a beach as possible, with all the mod cons that people now expect and with that extra wow effect if possible.

Well in Avalon I found that place. More like an American beach house than an Irish holiday home. Open plan and designed to take advantage of the beautiful scenery, with almost wraparound glass windows from which there was a panoramic view of sea, mountains and sunsets. The owner was kind and understanding of any request and as a result we had the most fantastic time.

“Perfect for large family”


Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

1 person found this review helpful

We booked this house for a family get together in March. Booking with the owner Michael was very straightforward and easy, he was very helpful.

The house was fantastic as advertised. The views from the wrap around windows are amazing and the beach is a two minute walk away. We were a group of eight adults and eight children and we felt we had plenty of space. We liked the fact that the living area is one big space so that everyone was together at all times, even though it was big enough for one person to be reading, others watching the tv, while others cooked and chatted.

There are good cooking facilities,a tv , wi-fi and a washing machine.The bedrooms were fine- clean and big enough.

Louisburgh is a 5 minute drive away and Westport about 20-25 mins. A taxi to or from Westport cost us €20 each way which we thought was ok between 4 of us who went out there in the evening to a pub. 
In short ,a stunning house in a stunning location and we hope to return some day! We would highly recommend this house and this owner.

“Recommended”


Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013


Enormous living room / kitchen with stunning views was the main attraction. But the house was overall very nice, clean and well appointed with good sized bedrooms. We were very lucky with sunny days every day which, through the very large windows, made the living room very warm without heating. You'd need more heating during the day if you weren't so lucky - such a large house could get chilly.


“Perfect”


Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013


Avalon was the perfect spot for our getaway. The house is magnificent with every kind of modcon, a wonderful sitting room with incredible views of the atlantic and ample beds/bathrooms. The owner, Michael is a pleasure to deal with. The location is wonderful, only about 15mins from westport & about 2km from louisburgh itself. We had a wonderful weekend. I cannot recommend it highly enough.


“Great house, fantastic views. Relaxing environment”


Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012


The house had everything we needed. The owner was really helpful and gave us all the information we needed for a great holiday. Would like to book again!

“a perfect family holiday location”


Reviewed 23 August 2011 for a stay in April 2011


Six adults and four children stayed here in April this year.
Avalon is perfect for a large group lots of room both inside and out.
Bedrooms are large and the kitchen /dinning/sitting room has to be seen to be believed.
The garden is safe for small kids and the beach is 2 minutes walk away.
Everyone grandparents parents and kids had a great time.
Michael couldn't have been more helpful
We hope to return.

“Spectacular”


Reviewed 25 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011


We booked 'Avalon' for a family holiday in picturesque Louisburgh. From the website description we knew the house could comfortably accommodate 11 people and that it was located by a beach but nothing prepared us for the 'wow' factor of arriving and seeing it in person. The house has wall to wall glass on 2 sides of the open plan sitting/dining area, with spectacular views of the ocean and Achill Island. The huge kitchen table seats 14 people and there are 4 leather sofas with a 42" TV. Old Head Beach is a two minute walk from the house and has gorgeous soft sand and some huge rocks, no little pebbles. Croach Patrick peers over the back of the houses - there is a second smaller house beside 'Avalon' that I believe can be booked too for bigger groups. The beds are the comfiest you'll find, perfect after doing the 17km Famine Walk that we did. Generally everything in the house is really high quality, including the two high chairs. I would highly recommend this house and the area for a holiday, we are definitely going to stay again.

    Home      About Us     Old Head     Avalon     Lagan     Things to Do     Heritage     Events     Links     Contact Us