Testimonials for Lagan five star self-catering accommodation between Louisburgh and Westport

County Mayo, Ireland

“Simply Stunning”


Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015


My family and I stayed at Lagan in late August for 1 week. It was a bit of a family reunion with some of us living in England and others scattered across Ireland - 13 of us in total. We had a warm welcome to a spotless house, lovely fresh bed linen and plenty of nice towels. The house is beautifully finished inside and out and is well thought out. It even has a warm outside shower to clean off the sand on return from the beach. We had children ranging from age 3 – 17 and the house met everyone’s needs - it was spacious and well kitted out too. It is literally 100 meters from the beach, The scenery is stunning with Croagh Patrick out one window and a magnificent view of the sea out the other window! It's a short drive to Louisburgh and a 20 minute drive to Westport. I would highly recommend staying at this house and if we go to the west coast of Ireland again I would not hesitate to stay here. A very memorable holiday, thank you Michael and your team.

“Just perfect”


Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015


We were a party of 7 spending a week at Lagan for the first time, my sister, my 2 sons, my daughter in law and my 2 grandchildren aged 6 and 4 years. On arrival we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the location, the great welcome we received from Michael, the owner, Margaret, the housekeeper, and Eamon, the caretaker, always available if needed but not necessary, as everything we needed for a perfect holiday was to be found in Lagan. The accommodation was excellent with lots of space, the kitchen facilities were all new and modern, the kids loved the water and ice dispenser. We loved all the extra touches, televisions in all the very comfortable bedrooms, modern bathrooms, 2 new hair dryers, barbecue, washing machine and dryer, outside shower essential with 2 very happy children covered in sand after a day on the beach. 2 very comfortable chairs by the window to enjoy the spectacular views, outstanding in all weathers, the sunsets, Croagh Patrick surrounded by clouds, my 6 year old grandson's comments on trying out one of the chairs "This is the life". Just sumed up the whole experience. The beach is a short stroll from the house for those into water sports or just to sit and enjoy. Louisburgh is close by and Westport just a little further but not to be missed. We also visited Achill, Cong, Galway and the family home in Kilmovee. The motorways are well signposted for those wanting to see a bit of Ireland. What a great place to spend a holiday!

“an outstanding holiday for all the family,best ever”


Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015


We rented LAGAN to celebrate a special birthday for my wife Eileen whose wish for her birthday was that we would get all family together----- 8 adults and 4 children 
LAGAN was ideal providing the opportunities for every activity one could hope for.
The sea is 100 meters away with an excellent safe beach a mile long with water sports activities at the Old Head end. We availed of the opportunity to cycle the Green way , others did some mountaineering on Croagh Patrick. Westport and Westport house has extraordinary activity opportunities and alternatives if there is a wet or showery day.
Lagan itself isthe last word in luxury with 5 beautiful large bedrooms 4 of which are ensuite
Beds are large and super comfortable, There is a very large living dining room luxurious furniture and the panoramic views are breath taking of mountains and sea. There is excelent heating if needed, laundry facilities and top of the range kitchen equipment. Everything is on the flat with great accessibility. Ther are tvs every where and excellent wifi Outside there are beautiful lawns and an excellent barbecue
The liaison withthe owner is very personal and informal from the start. Johns visit with lots of brown bread is a beautiful and sensitive and generous touch. The housekeeping and maintenance services are almost immediately available delivered in a kind and efficient way For a family or group get together Lagan is unlikely to be surpassed

“Excellent. Definitely going back”


Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015


We've just returned from a long weekend at Lagan House. Our family party consisted of 9 adults and 2 children and Lagan more than comfortably accommodated everyone. The view from the glass walled lounge was second to none available in Ireland with Old Head Beach to the left and Croagh Patrick to the right. The facilities were top class and the beds were extremely comfortable. The five bathrooms/shower rooms were of hotel standard. There was an extensive paved barbecue area outside which was well equipped with outdoor furniture. Michael, the owner, informed us that the house is still a work in progress so I imagine it will be 5 star plus on completion. We definitely recommend this luxurious property and will without doubt be paying it another visit.

“Absolutely beautiful home with equally gorgeous views”


Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014


The only bad thing I can say about our stay in Lagan that it ended too soon! We travelled with our family of eight, plus one infant. From our first minutes in the home, we were welcomed by Margaret, the housekeeper, and made to feel completely at home. Stunned by the breathtaking views of Croagh Patrick on one side and the bay on the other, we all agreed that we could have spent many more days enjoying Lagan. We were able to use the house as our home base from which to explore neighboring Westport, Bangor, Galway, and other attractions. 

You really won't find a house that is as beautifully located and well appointed as Lagan. Working with the owner and his family was a true pleasure--all were so welcoming and accommodating. I cannot recommend Lagan enough! We're already planning our return!

“The Perfect Place”


Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013


We have traveled all over the world and have stayed at many 5 star places , but few are as beautiful, comfortable and peaceful as the Lagan House. The location, the decor, the layout and the welcome were all superb. It is a place that exceeds the photos and expectations. Everything we could want was provided in the house and everything we dreamed of was provided in the view and the experience. We can only hope that it is available next time we come to Ireland.

“Brilliant time”


Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013


Fantastic location with beautiful views of Croagh Patrick and Clew Bay. Quiet and peaceful. We had the beach to ourselves most of the time.The house was great with plenty of room for all of us. Everyone was very friendly. We didn't want to come home.

“Excellent holiday ideal for large family reunion”


Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013


we had our summer holiday at lagan house this year, it was a brilliant holiday the house is located 2mins from beach, our kids had a fantastic time on beach every day, in the evening they played in big garden surrounding the house while the adults relaxed on the patio having BBQ every night and admiring the beautiful views around the house.
We had family coming and going all week which was brilliant as the housebig,spacious, clean and modern so we were not on top of each other . I would definitely stay here again. Loads of beautiful scenery around, we had a car so we went for drives to other beaches near by and all fantastic, we also had the best whether that week so it was an extra bonus.

“Perfect location near Blue Flag beach”


Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013


The smaller of 2 holiday rentals on this site, Lagan's living area has recently been extended to give awesome views of both Clew Bay and Croagh Patrick. The house is situated at the deserted end of the very clean Old Head Beach and is ideally located for families with small children, who will love swimming and exploring the many rock pools. The house also has a private lawn for ball games and a brick BBQ. Inside the living area is kitted out to a high standard with new TVs, but with the dome of Croagh Patrick nagging at you, you may find it hard to stay inside for too long.

“I would go back anytime!”


Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012


We rented the Lagan house with another couple. Everyone loved staying there. The furniture was very comfortable; everything you need was in the kitchen; lots of room in the living area; the bedrooms (4) and bathrooms (2) are small but it did not matter; nice beach to walk on; beautiful view of Crough Patrick from most windows; close to Westport for provisions, pubs, etc. and Louisburg for basics. You could not ask for a better host - Michael or a member of his family was quick to fix or replace anything we asked for and the homemade soda bread was too good to be true! I highly recommend this vacation rental. Also, if you are staying there, eat at the fabulous Hudson's Pantry in Louisbroug. Like Lagan, you won't be disappointed!

    Home      About Us     Old Head     Avalon     Lagan     Things to Do     Heritage     Events     Links     Contact Us